Searching for God in nature, photography, whiskey, books and art…. whatever rant I am compelled to voice

MARTHA ALVAREZ SPEAKS OF ABUSE FROM CHIEF BERNARD RED CHERRIES

To learn more about this issue please read  THE ABUSE PAPERS.

I had to take a break from this issue due to vacation and work issues….plus I have had a lot of personal turmoil about the issue. My head spins sometimes from the multitudes of personalities and lies put forth by Lisa/Eaglewingwoman/Beverly H. I have a tendency to believe people when they comment on a situation not being used to the idea that people are not always as they portray themselves online. Someone has to keep reminding me that I may be dealing with a man who has mental problems and that most of the things that the personalities say is not true. I sometimes feel like there should be a support group for people confused and confounded by Bernard Red Cherries and his supporters.

Martha Alvarez  is a young woman who spent part of her childhood with a man who calls himself Chief Bernard Red Cherries 6th Generation Spiritual Leader and Sundance/Arrow Priest, Chief of the Northern Cheyenne Elk Society
Chief Headsman Northern Cheyenne Elk Society. This is an e-mail that was sent to Eugene Johnson and read on Sal Serbin’s radio show INDIGENOUS SOUNDS on WSLR 96.5 fm in Sarasota Florida.

Robert was a controlling man. When I was a little girl, I remember him being nice, almost like a savior when we moved to Montana. We were in a group home in Warm springs and apparently it was Robert’s idea to come and get us. He told my mother to get the kids and bring them back here. She did. After a while that man went away. As to the extent of our abuse, I remember the most because I was older about 7 or so. My little brothers were 2 and 5 when we moved there. He abused us in every form except sexual. He whipped us with anything, 2x4s, extension cords, belts. And not just our butts. I know the difference. I recall being drug through the house on numerous occasions, pulled up off the ground by my hair, yelled at, threatened, belittled, etc.

The worst for me was the mind games. he would always tell us to go to our room…the back room and we would know what was coming, almost like walking down Death Row. And most to the time we didn’t even know what we had done. On one occasion, my brother Tommy Joe and I were in the back room and  Robert walked in with his belt in one hand. We were both crying, of course, and he holds out his finger to me and says “Pull it”. Tommy looks at me and vice versa. We look at him. I just stood there looking at him. He turns to my little brother and says “Pull it.” Tommy still crying, put out his hand and pulled his extended finger. Robert farted and started laughing and said “Get out of here.”

He also liked to use guns, rifles on my mother. I actually saw this. My mother has never really mentioned anything else but that about what happened to her behind the doors. We were made to call him Dad. I didn’t want to but we didn’t have a choice. When people use the expression “walking on eggshells,” we really did. He would tell us not to go outside when he wasn’t there and we would listen. That’s the type of control he had over us. We weren’t allowed to talk at the dinner table, only he was. We were the family that has been seen and not heard, truly. It felt like we were there for appearances. Looking back now, I was always the defiant one. I don’t think I realized that until now.

Here is another statement made by Martha Alvarez.


I want to thank Eugene and Rhonda for everything they are doing. Thanks to anyone else that has come forward, for standing up to persons not mentioned. I truely appreciate it.

As to those organizations or persons protecting him I’m not hiding, and why would you conceal something so wrong! I’m not afraid. Why don’t you ask me what happened? This issue truely is one sided, you don’t have my side, my mothers, or even truely my little sisters, if in fact she has been contacted. Every thing I have done is out of love even if you don’t see it that way.

It has been many years but I remember and I’m not a liar. We are not the only family.

Eugene is right I never said anything about sexual assault, I don’t know where that is coming from.

I’m here and I’m standing up for what I know is true. You can’t erase what happened to us, or anyone else for that matter. Your big performance isn’t going to hide the truth much longer. It’s all just an act, a show, and you enjoy it. The thrill, power, and attention. This is truely my life, my memories.

I wonder if you protect all corrupt persons in places of leadership or athority to this extent. Does the issue of abuse of children, women, families mean nothing? No matter how long ago it was. Does his position entitle him to hurt people with out any consequences?

Were we not wronged in all of this? Don’t you even consider all the pain this has done to us and then to insult us by calling us liars, to say it never happened would be the lie. I’ve tried to let it go, live my life, but it still affects me to this day. I’ve never even got an apology or a sign of remorse which confirms he has not changed since then, at all.

I’m not going to stay silent any longer. I played that part of obedient daughter. I’m not backing down. I do have a past and I’m not afraid of it.

My motivation in all this is my family and for me. I’m taking back my power that was stolen from me all those years ago. For every thing I heard, saw, experienced, and for the ones that endured it with me. For those who aren’t strong enough yet.

You won’t scare me away, the pain of that life is to strong to let you!

Martha Alvarez | Homepage | 05.15.09 – 2:34 pm | #

I am adding this because it is a beautiful comment from Martha’s mother.

MAYBE NOT THE FIRST BUT DEFINATELY NOT THE LAST! AS I SIT HEAR AND READ ALL OF THESE PEOPLES TRUETHS AGAIN IN MY MIND – I THINK “MY DAUGHTER MARTHA ONCE AGAIN STOOD UP FOR NOT ONLY HER MOTHER, SISTERS & BROTHERS WHILE LIVING IN BERNARDS HOME IN LAME DEER BUT SHE HAS THE COUARGE TO SHOW ME ONCE AGAIN THAT THIS WAS THE TRUTH AND I DONT HAVE TO BE AFRAID TO SAY IT, PUBLICLY. SORRY I AM NOT VERY EDUCATED, OR INTUITIVE BUT I DO HAVE ALOT OF FEELINGS. I M SORRY TO SAY MY DAUGHTER: DELLA ANN RED CHERRIES IS NOW IN COFFEE CREEK – STATE PRISON IN OREGON. I AM SAYING THANK YOU MARTHA FOR ALWAYS BEING THE LEVEL HEADED, STRONG & PAINFULLY HONEST WOMEN YOU HAVE GROWN INTO. MY GRANDSON IS LUCKY TO HAVE YOU HELPING HIM ALONG NOT LETTING ANY HURT HIM FOR ANY REASON.

MY NAME IS LOIS AND I AM MARTHAS MOM.

BERNARD HAS NEVER EVER SAID HE WAS SORRY TO ME OR MY CHILDREN AFTER ALL THE FIVE(5) YEARS WE SUFFERED FOR “THE CHEYENNE PEOPLE” LIVING IN LAME DEER, MT.

THANK YOU WE ALL NEED PRAYERS…

ONE OF THE EX’S | 04.26.09 – 3:00 pm | #

And this precious thank you.

I’m really taken back by what one little e-mail has generated. Honestly I’m shocked people took time to listen. It’s been many many years coming and I’m glad people are finally seeing what we saw all those years. Thank you, all of you. I never thought of my self as a strong person I’m only doing what I thought was right for my family. For me it is justice just having people acknowledge what he has done not only to my family but others as well. I can remeber one to many times people of authority turned their backs on us because Robert was a medicine man to his people. To young children it destroys a sense of trust in those figures. Any of those who know him like I do understand it’s not easy facing those memories but I’m not seven anymore and I’m not going to let him have that hold on me any longer. I will never forgive or forget but I will pray for him. As to my little sister I’m only sorry I couldn’t help her more than what I’m doing right now. To my mother, wow, I never knew you saw me like that. To Rhonda thank you once again for seeing both sides of the story. For everyone else thanks for outing Bernard Redcherries, Robert Coltte, or whatever name he chooses to go by now or in the future.

Thanks once again for simply listening

Martha | Homepage | 04.28.09 – 3:02 am | #

11 responses

  1. Im searching for sites related to this. Glad I found you. Thanks

    December 3, 2009 at 8:40 am

  2. Anonymous Woman

    I know you are telling the truth. He hurt me, and other women too.

    September 9, 2010 at 7:21 pm

  3. elizabethtool

    I’m sorry Anonymous Woman for your experience. If you are so inclined write your story if I can vet your existence with someone like Martha I would publish it as anonymous if you fear retaliation. Woman speaking out against abuse is the only way it will stop. One woman wrote me that she had looked up Bernard Red Cherries on the internet and found nothing negative…he was a well respected Indian Chief. Since Martha Alvarez has been brave enough to speak out, people either wanting to date him or hire him for a religious ceremony now have a red flag. The more red flags people raise the more people that will be warned.

    September 11, 2010 at 9:28 am

  4. Shadowomen

    I know (a) Bernard Red Cherries… but I want to know if this is the same person. How old is “this” Bernard Redcherries? Is he still in Lame Deer??

    March 9, 2011 at 7:44 am

  5. elizabethtool

    Probably it is the same person he is an Indian Chief/medicine man from Lame Deer. Lately he has been traveling between Oklahoma. Last I heard he had a couple of arrests in Oregon for public drunkenness. That was about six months ago.

    I pray he finds the help he needs for his sake and the sake of his future victims. The cycle of abuse does not go away in a day or a week and his victims suffer years later.

    I am so proud of Martha for speaking out.

    March 9, 2011 at 5:16 pm

  6. Della

    Hi my names Della I am Bernard’s daughter and I thought I would give you guys my side of the story and the truth, my father wasn’t perfect but he never put any kind of hands on me or anyone that I saw and I lived with him for 12 years. He raised his voice and made me do ridiculous amount of chores , we had our ups and downs but it was only because he cares my going to prison had nothing to do with Jim it had to do with the fact the my cousins were molesting me for years ( yes they were turned in and prosecuted and I never told any one bc Cheyennes were modest and didn’t talk about that kinda stuff I got in my head that people would think less of me and if would tear my family apart it did and you know what? It was for the best I’m so grateful my dad turned them in and got me the help I needed of course those things you can’t fix over night and it effected my behavior I became angry it took going to prison to love myself again, peoplecan say what they want about my dad but guess what? He was the only one their for me the entire time , where was my mom Lois? In and out of treatment and using meth. She has done nothing but bring me down time and time again. She does nothing but continues to slander my dads name knowing damn well she should be grateful he took care of me when she wouldn’t because of her selfish behavior. I wanted to updat you too that when I was in prison my “mom” didn’t bother to reach out to me till 5 years into my sentence and even then it wasn’t because she wanted to it was because it was apart of her treatment at the time.. so I get out and have nothing or no one because my father passed while I was in prison. I think let me build a relationship with my mom and you know what we did we smoked drugs together she does it with all her kids God as my witness. I had to cut all ties with her if I wanted to be clean and sober and I did it. I am happy and finally made piece again. Please reconsider your sources, scorned women ? Jealous ex? I love and miss my father so much and would appreciate people to stop slandering my dads names. Making up story’s of abuse sure he was a strict asshole at times but I’m happy he was he cared and I can see it now. Back then I was hurt, angry, confused. I repeat he never touched me!!!!! The behavioral problems came from the sexual abuse of some older cousins my dad didn’t deserve what I put him through and I would give anything to take it back but I can’t , my dad always said shame the devil and tell the truth no matter what here I am and I am telling you the truth. so please refrain from trying to tell me it’s not true I was their remember the entire time he was my dad and he raised me as a single father he wasn’t perfect but I’ll tell you one thing he’s better then Lois maybe one day I’ll get over her ditching me and not looking back. I have a son now and iv held him and cried because I just couldn’t understand stand how anyone can choose meth over these precious baby’s, they need you , I needed you ,but you were no where in site.another reason for my behavioral problems yes I’ll admit it, it killed me that my mother didn’t want and doesn’t want me but what’s important is letting that go my dad was such a good person. He would always tell me tell me “della Ann you only get one mom make up with her” I would refuse because she was always on drugs. Any was today I am doing great I am going to college clean and sober I have a son that means the world to me. Come for me if you want I’ll always tell the truth

    August 17, 2017 at 12:19 am

  7. Della

    Omg I couldnt even finish reading this you guys were on a real witch hunt. I want you to know I am going to talk to a lawyer because you clearly had a part in bullying my dad around which lead to his death. It’s clear you guys didn’t let up on him , you have his blood on your hands. Think about that. I lost my ONLY parent that gave a fuck about me because of you guys and your blatant lies. One day you will have to answer for this weather it be in this life or the next. I am contacting a lawyer to see if I can get this garbage website taken down. Thanks you so much for got time, and next time you want to bully someone around like this think of me the girl you took her father from think of my pain and let it be a lesson to you.

    August 17, 2017 at 12:29 am

  8. Martha alvarez

    The reason we do not associate with Della Anne redcherries, who is named after my mother’s mother, was left with her dad because my mother had to flee. She always regretted leaving but she would have died if she didn’t. And I was contacted by the state when Della was 15 or 16 at the time to see if I wanted custody. I fought for her for 6 months after her dad lost her to the state because she ran away from him over his abuse. Della was in my home for one month when I let her and our younger sister go to Portland with an aunt for my other sister’s birthday. I also had custody of my younger sister, brother and I just had my son. Della ran away from a toys r us with our younger sister and was gone for a month. When they were found Della was charged with soliciting. Taken to a juvenile jail and while in juvenile jail she orcatrated a jail break which resulted in a guard getting 32 Staples in the head. Della was the ring leader and charged as an adult. I believe she was released around her 21st birthday. I will not have anything to do with her because she has never apologized or shown an ounce of remorse for taking our sister who was just turned 11. They ran away on my birthday. I worried for a month with no word. I do not drink, I do not use drugs, I don’t do pills. Yes Della made contact with members of our family and yes they used together. She was reckless and I urged my family members to stay away from her. She moved to the Portland area. I have never liked about Bernard redcherries. I was beat regularly and yes I was molested by family members there too. My focus was always Bernard. If she wants to be delusional and pretend that was love and care then be my guest. And it is rumored Della is going back to prison and the state has her child. I loved my sister as a child but the adult I have nothing nice to say. And to this day we have never received an apology or that was really messed up of me to take an 11 year old on the run. I forgive her but I want nothing to do with her. Just like her dad she won’t have power over my life. It’s not slander when it was my life that I’m testifying to. My life was he’ll there. I’m glad he’s dead and he isn’t able to hurt anyone else.

    July 31, 2018 at 7:59 pm

  9. momabear92

    Also I was 14 Martha because I was 15 when I went to juice and turned 16 in prison if you must know due to my fabulous family and upbringing on both parts bravo 👏

    November 24, 2019 at 10:53 am

  10. Della

    delusional I think not and no one said I was perfect but I have both my kids and am in no way going back to prison I’m actually doing very well thank you although I’m sure you would love to believe otherwise. Don’t sit around and act like you were our saving “grace” all we were to you was a live in baby sitter and extra benefits for you. I left on my own bc I was tired of being used, besides you had drunk guys coming in at all hours of the night pissing in the corner of your living room because he was to drunk to find the bathroom -what was his name again Tyler? Who would want to be there I didn’t and so I left I was a kid and kids make mistakes looking back now I should have just told me state worker and gotten moved from your care but I didn’t and I do apologize for that. However trying to Villainize Children 11 and 14 year old when you were how old at the time????? Nothing is ever your fault your chronically the victim right? And no the reason we don’t talk is because I TOLD y’all to stay away from me because I can’t be around drug addicts my life and my home is all drug free and amazing since I made that decision, letting Lois In was my Worst mistake with her came drugs your right about that but your wrong about your perceptions of me I’m not delusional my dad was the only one who was there and this entire page is bullshit blame game with the adults pointing fingers at the kids typical thank god im 27 now and can see you all for what you are I can sleep at night knowing I made the right choice in cutting that part out of mine and my kids love you guys are toxic. And nothing about your time line makes any sense check your math and do it again.

    November 24, 2019 at 11:08 am

  11. Della

    Also I didn’t take her she wouldn’t stay and asked to come ! But you scare her to much to for her to tell you that least at the time thats what it was we were kids Martha our brains weren’t even done developing And it’s been nothing but hate from you, you’re not the easiest person to talk , you want an apology? I’m sorry I truly am there were other ways to handle things that my 14 year old brain scientifically wasn’t able to put together the hypocampus isn’t even puppy developed at 21 (the deacon making part of the Brain) and you can’t blame Margie’s problems on me you guys are the ones raising her at 14 I wasn’t no ones moma I was an abuse kid who was angry at the world. I want from one shitty situation to the next and all you did was criticize criticize criticize instead of actually showing us how to do stuff and helping us but I understand you weren’t our mama either so thank you for trying at least that’s more then I can say for Lois I truly wish you the best your a good person and honestly deserve it no matter how much our view and opinions differ. You tried . Thank you. Also just because I apologize I don’t mean I want anything to do with any of you lol I just want you guys to be good and for us to leave each other alone and let both our family’s movin on with our healing processes. Don’t forget I’m 27 now but I was 14 when you guys were writing all of this about me. And I forgive you as the adult in the situation I looked to you for guidance but you Lead me right into this and I still forgive you. I hope you can find the peace you need to be happy and I am sorry if my dad ever hurt you I can’t say that I ever saw that but I was young I don’t even ever remember Lois being there. And why was she so afraid for her life she took y’all and let me with someone she views as mentally unstable. I will never understand. Andy way nothing but the best

    November 24, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Leave a comment